General Skilled Migration (GSM)

The purpose of the Skilled Migration Program is to attract highly employable people for migration to Australia. It is the most common form of migration to Australia, and it is one of the core areas of Acacia's expertise.

Skilled Subclasses

There are a variety of skilled migration options:
Skilled Independent Subclass 189
Permanent visa option, the skilled independent does not require sponsorship by a relative or state/territory government
Skilled Nominated Subclass 190
A permanent visa requiring nomination by an Australian State or Territory government
Skilled Work Regional (Provisional) Subclass 491
This is a 5-year provisional visa which requires holders to live, work, and study in regional Australia. You would need to be nominated by an Australian State or Territory government, or sponsored by an eligible Australian relative. The 491 visa replaces the 489.
Graduate Temporary Subclass 485
The Graduate Temporary visa is a work visa which can be applied for by international students who have completed a qualification taking 2 years of study in Australia.
Recognised Graduate Subclass 476
An 18 month work visa for recent engineering graduates
Skilled Regional Subclass 887
The Skilled Regional visa is the permanent stage of the Skilled Regional Provisional Subclass 489. To qualify for a Skilled Regional visa, you must live in the required region of Australia for 2 years and work full time there for 12 months.

Why should you choose Acacia?

There is a wide range of points-tested, family-sponsored and state-sponsored skilled visa subclasses. Choosing the right occupation in which to apply for skills assessment is critical and can affect your points score and eligibility for state-sponsored options.

Acacia has handled applications for all skilled migration subclasses and most skills assessing authorities and we can assist you in navigating the options to reach a successful outcome.

Stay up to date - Subscribe to Immigration News!