Skilled Migration Criteria

Applicants for skilled migration need to meet strict threshold criteria. Note that these must be met at time of invitation - hence it is important to only lodge an Expression of Interest once all criteria have been met.

These criteria include:


You must be aged between 18 and 44 at the time of invitation.

English Language Ability

Most applicants will need to undertake an English language test. Native English speakers have the option of not taking the test, but must do so to obtain points for English.

Skills Assessment

All applicants need to undergo skills assessment in an occupation on the approved list for your application type. Criteria for skills assessment vary by occupation and there are a large number of skills assessing authorities. In most cases, the skills assessment will be based on the applicant's qualifications and work experience, though in some cases English language ability and registration in Australia is required.

Points Test

Applicants must meet the pass mark in the general skilled migration points test to be eligible.


All applicants need to go through the SkillSelect system prior to lodging their visa application - this involves first making an Expression of Interest (EOI) and receiving an invitation from the Department of Immigration to apply.

Stay up to date - Subscribe to Immigration News!